Public Education Awards winners announced

South Australian public educators have been recognised for their outstanding work at the annual SA Public Education Awards on Friday evening.

The winners across 10 categories were revealed at the awards ceremony.

Some examples of the exceptional work from nominees include teachers who inspired their students to send their projects to the International Space Station, design habitats for rhinos and overcome a phobia of maths.

All winners and nominees demonstrated excellence and innovation and provided students and pre-schoolers with the best possible education and support.

The 10 winners will receive $10,000 to go towards professional development, with 20 runners-up receiving $2,000 in support.

This year the awards received a record number of nominations, and the winners were congratulated by Education Minister John Gardner and Awards Ambassador Eddie Betts.

“We want our children and young people to be the beneficiaries of the best education system in Australia and it’s great to see our Public Education Awards winners leading the way,” said Minister Gardner.

“This year we received a record number of nominations and the quality was consistently high.

“The Public Education Awards are not just about celebrating the winners but highlighting the vital role that public education plays in the prosperity of the state.

“I would like to thank Eddie Betts for being our awards ambassador and shining a light on the outstanding people who work in our public education system.

“This year it was a new innovation to have an ambassador for the awards and we believe Eddie’s work has lifted the profile of the event and directly contributed to the significant increase in nominations.”

2018 Awards Ambassador Eddie Betts expressed his support for the winners.

“It has been a pleasure to be the ambassador for the 2018 Public Education Awards and to see some of the exceptional staff in public education rewarded for their commitment to their very important roles,” said Mr Betts.

“I loved going out to the schools and surprising a few of the finalists who have made such a big difference to their students’ lives.

“I want to congratulate all the finalists and winners on the job they do for public education.”

The 2018 Public Education Award winners are:

Amanda Pedder, Roma Mitchell Secondary College - Secondary Teacher of the Year

Annette Hammond, Tumby Bay Area School - School and Preschool Support Award

Antoinette Jones, Mitcham Girls High School - Teacher Health Leadership Award

Early Career Teacher Development program, People and Culture - System Excellence Award

Katrina Tjitayi, Anangu Education Services Ernabella - Aunty Josie Agius Award

Kelly Rivett, Vale Park Primary School - Credit Union SA Primary Teacher of the Year

Mike Hawkey, Two Wells Primary School - Innovation in Practice Awards

Paint the Inner West REaD, Park’s Children’s Centre - Community Engagement Award

Peta Tooley, Gawler and District College B-12 - Early Years Teacher of the Year           

Roger Nottage, John Pirie Secondary College - Performance through Values Award